Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 75

Tuesday, June 6, 2000

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 11:13 a.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Member of the Committee present: Maurizio Bevilacqua, Roy Cullen, Albina Guarnieri, Richard Harris, Sophia Leung, Gary Pillitteri and Paul Szabo.

Acting Member present: Rick Limoges for Nick Discepola.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Blayne Haggart, Researcher; Marion Wrobel, Senior Analyst.

Witnesses: From the Treasury Board Secretariat: Richard J. Neville, Deputy Comptroller General; Len Endemann, Director, Cost Recovery. From the University of Toronto: Dr. Richard Bird, Faculty of Management. From the Department of Fisheries and Oceans - Canadian Coast Guard: John Adams, Commissioner; Tim Meisner, Director, Policy and Legislation, Marine Programs Division. From the Consumers' Association of Canada: Gail Lacombe, President & Chief Executive Officer; Jennifer Hillard, Vice-President, Issues and Policy; Jean Jones, Chair, National Health Council.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108 (2), the Committee resumed its study on Cost Recovery (See Minutes of Proceedings of Tuesday, May 9, 2000, Meeting 54).

Richard Neville, Richard Bird, John Adams, Gail Lacombe, Jennifer Hillard and Jean Jones made statements and with, the other witnesses in the roundtable, answered questions.

At 1:12 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Pat Steenberg

Clerk of the Committee