Skip to main content Start of content

FINA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 67

Thursday, May 18, 2000

The Standing Committee on Finance met at 3:37 p.m. this day, in Room 209, West Block, the Chair, Maurizio Bevilacqua, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Maurizio Bevilacqua, Roy Cullen and Roger Gallaway.

Acting Member present: Paul Forseth for Ken Epp.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Marion Wrobel, Senior Analyst.

Appearing: From the Department of Finance: Roy Cullen, Parliamentary Secretary to the Finance Minister.

Witnesses: From the Department of Finance: Brian Ernewein, Director, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch; Gérard Lalonde, Senior Chief, Tax Legislation Division, Tax Policy Branch; John Hayward, Chief, Personal Income Tax Division, Tax Policy Branch.

The Order of Reference dated Wednesday, May 17, 2000, was read as follows:

ORDERED, -- That Bill C-25, An Act to amend the Income Tax Act, the Excise Tax Act and the Budget Implementation Act, 1999.

The Chair called Clause 1.

The Parliamentary Secretary made a statement and, with other witnesses from the Department of Finance, answered questions.

At 4:57 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Pat Steenberg

Clerk of the Committee