Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 9

Thursday, November 25, 1999

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 8:52 a.m. this day, in Room 209, West Block, the Chair, Charles Caccia, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Charles Caccia, John Herron, Joe Jordan, Karen Kraft Sloan, Julian Reed.

Acting Members present: Bill Graham for Marlene Catterall and Clifford Lincoln for David Pratt.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Monique Hébert, Research Officer.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Federation of Agriculture: Bob Friesen, President. From the Crop Protection Institute: Lorne Hepworth, President; Charles D. Milne, Vice-President, Government Affairs; Denise Dewar, Manager, Scientific Affairs. From the Canadian Horticultural Council: Ron Cameron, Chairman, Crop Protection Committee. From AGCare (Toronto): Jeff Wilson, Executive Member.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108 (2), the Committee resumed its study on the management and use of pesticides in Canada including an evaluation of the performance of the Pest Management Regulatory Agency in preventing pollution and in protecting the environment and human health (See Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, October 26,1999 (Meeting no. 1)).

Bob Friesen, Lorne Hepworth, Ron Cameron and Jeff Wilson made statements and with Denise Dewar and Charles D. Milne answered questions.


At 10:57 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.





Stephen Knowles
Clerk of the Committee