Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 49

Tuesday, September 26, 2000

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 7:45 p.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, theVice-Chair, Karen Kraft Sloan, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, Dennis Gruending, John Herron, Karen Kraft Sloan and David Pratt.

Acting Member present: Pierre Brien for Jean-Guy Chrétien.

Associate Member present: Clifford Lincoln.

Other Members present: Karen Redman and John Reynolds.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Christine Labelle, Research Officer.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency: Paul Bernier, Vice-President, Program Delivery Sector. From Harris Township, Ontario: Martin Auger, Reeve. From the Regional Municipality of Témiscamingue, Quebec: Fidel Baril, Substitute Reeve, Mayor of Notre Dame du Nord. From the City of Toronto: Bill Saundercook, Councillor, York Humber, Chair, Works Committee; Michael Garrett, Chief Administrative Officer; Angelos Bacopoulos, General Manager, Solid Waste Management. From the Township of Larder Lake, Ontario: Joanne Thompson, Reeve. From the Timiskaming First Nation: Carol McBride, Grand Chief; Patrick Nadjiwan, Legal Advisor. From Notre Development Corporation: Gordon McGuinty, President. From Gartner Lee Ltd: Steve Usher, Hydrogeologist. From the Campaign Against the Adams Mine: Stan Gorzalinscky, Technical Advisor; Pierre Bélanger, Spokesperson; Brennain Lloyd, Coordinator, Northwatch. From Le Comité de la sauvegarde du Lac Témiscamingue: Pierre-Alexandre Ayotte, Member.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee commenced consideration of issues concerning the landfill project at the Adams Mine in the Timiskaming area of Ontario

At 7:45 p.m. Martin Auger, Fidel Baril, Bill Saundercook, Michael Garrett and Joanne Thompson made statements and Bill Saundercook and Michael Garrett with Paul Bernier and Angelos Bacopoulos answered questions.

At 8:58 p.m. Grand Chief Carol McBride and Patrick Nadjiwan made statements and with Paul Bernier and with Stan Gorzalinscky answered questions.

At 10:02 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 10:12 p.m., the sitting resumed.

At 10:15 p.m. Gordon McGuinty, Steve Usher, Pierre Bélanger, Pierre Alexandre Ayotte and Brennain Lloyd made statements and with Paul Bernier and Stan Gorzalinscky answered questions.

At 11:44 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Stephen Knowles

Clerk of the Committee