Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 45

Tuesday, September 19, 2000

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 4:28 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Charles L. Caccia, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Charles L. Caccia, Marlene Catterall, Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, Dennis Gruending, John Herron, Rahim Jaffer, Karen Kraft Sloan, David Pratt and Julian Reed.

Acting Members present: Gar Knutson for Aileen Carroll, Leon Benoit for David Chatters, Clifford Lincoln for Nick Discepola, Rick Casson for Gurmant Grewal and Karen Redman for Paddy Torsney.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Kristen Douglas, Research Officer; Christine Labelle, Research Officer.

Appearing: From Environment Canada: The Honourable David Anderson, Minister of the Environment.

Witnesses: From Environment Canada: Alan Nymark, Deputy Minister; Karen Brown, Assistant Deputy Minister, Environmental Conservation Service.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), the Committee commenced consideration of issues pertaining to the protection of wildlife species at risk in Canada with respect to Bill C-33, an Act respecting the protection of wildlife species at risk in Canada (See Minutes of Proceedings of Thursday, June 15, 2000, Meeting No. 44).

The Minister made a statement and answered questions.

At 5:43 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Stephen Knowles
Clerk of the Committee