Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 28

Monday, March 13, 2000

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in camera at 4:27 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Chair, Charles L. Caccia, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Charles L. Caccia, Marlene Catterall, Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, Joe Jordan, Karen Kraft Sloan, Walt Lastewka, David Pratt, Julian Reed.

Associate Members present: Aileen Carroll and Clifford Lincoln.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Kristen Douglas and Linda Webster, Research Officers.

Witnesses: From Environment Canada: Robert Matheson, Chief, Hazardous Air Pollutants, Environmental Protection Services; John Buccini, Director, Commercial Chemicals Evaluation; Anne Daniel, Legal Services. From Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Richard D. Ballhorn, Director General, International Environmental Affairs Bureau; Ken Macartney, Director, Environmental Relations Division; Nigel Bankes, Oceans, Environment and Economic Law Division. From Indian Affairs and Northern Development: David Stone, Director, Northern Science and Contaminants Research Directorate, Natural Resources and Environment Branch; Hiram Beaubier, Director General, Natural Resources and Environment Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108 (2) the Committee commenced consideration of Canada's position on Persistent Organic Pollutants in view of the Fourth Session of the Intergovernmental Negotiating Committee, chaired by Canada, in Bonn, Germany, March 20-25, 2000. (See Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, February 15, 2000 (Meeting No. 21)).

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

At 6:15 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.





Stephen Knowles
Clerk of the Committee