Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 15

Monday, December 13, 1999

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 3:13 p.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Charles L. Caccia, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Charles L. Caccia, Marlene Catterall, David Chatters, Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, Rahim Jaffer, Joe Jordan, Karen Kraft Sloan, Walt Lastewka, David Pratt, Julian Reed, Paddy Torsney.

Acting Member present: Clifford Lincoln for Nick Discepola.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Monique Hébert and Linda Webster, Research Officers.

Witnesses: From the Office of the Auditor General of Canada: Brian Emmett, Commissioner, Environment and Sustainable Development; John Reed, Principal, Audit Operations. As Individuals: Wayne Roberts, Lori Stahlbrand, Rod MacRae.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108 (2), the Committee resumed its study on the management and use of pesticides in Canada including an evaluation of the performance of the Pest Management Regulatory Agency in preventing pollution and in protecting the environment and human health (See Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, October 26,1999 (Meeting no. 1)).

Brian Emmett made a statement and with John Reed answered questions.

At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 5:03 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Wayne Roberts and Lori Stalbrand made statements and with Rod MacRae answered questions.

At 6:22 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.




Stephen Knowles

Clerk of the Committee