Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 13

Tuesday, December 7, 1999

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met in a televised session at 8:58 a.m. this day, in Room 253-D, Centre Block, the Chair, Charles L. Caccia, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Charles L. Caccia, Marlene Catterall, John Herron, Rahim Jaffer, Joe Jordan, David Pratt, Julian Reed, Paddy Torsney.

Acting Members present: Clifford Lincoln for Karen Kraft Sloan and Hélène Alarie for Jocelyne Girard-Bujold.

Associate Member present: Aileen Carroll.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Christine Labelle and Linda Webster, Research Officers.

Witnesses: From the Canadian Organic Growers: Eleanor Heise, President. From the Canadian Organic Advisory Board: Allen Graff, President. From the University of Guelph: Dr. Peter Stonehouse, Research Officer, Department of Agricultural Economics & Business. From Laval University: Jeremy McNeil, Professor of Biology.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108 (2), the Committee resumed its study on the management and use of pesticides in Canada including an evaluation of the performance of the Pest Management Regulatory Agency in preventing pollution and in protecting the environment and human health (See Minutes of Proceedings, Tuesday, October 26,1999 (Meeting no. 1)).

The witnesses made statements and answered questions.

At 11:07 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.





Stephen Knowles

Clerk of the Committee