Skip to main content

ENVI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication


Meeting No. 1

Tuesday, October 26, 1999

The Standing Committee on Environment and Sustainable Development met at 11:13 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, for the purpose of electing a Chair and two Vice-Chairs, pursuant to Standing Orders 106(1) and (2).

Members of the Committee present: Charles Caccia, Rick Casson, Marlene Catterall, David Chatters, Jean-Guy Chrétien, Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, John Herron, Rahim Jaffer, Joe Jordan, Karen Kraft Sloan, David Pratt, Julian Reed, Paddy Torsney.

Acting Members present: Clifford Lincoln for Walt Lastewka, Pat Martin for Peter Mancini and Pat O'Brien for Nick Discepola.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament:Christine Labelle and Monique Hébert, Research Officers.

The Clerk of the Committee presided over the election of the Chair.

Joe Jordan moved, – That Charles Caccia take the Chair of the Committee as Chair.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to.

Accordingly Charles Caccia was declared duly elected Chair of the Committee.

The Chair took the Chair.

The Chair made a statement.

On motion of Rick Casson, it was agreed - That Jahim Raffer be elected Vice-Chair of the Committee.

On motion of John Herron, it was agreed - That Karen Kraft-Sloan be elected Vice-Chair of the Committee.

On motion of Jocelyne Girard-Bujold, it was aggreed - That the Committee retain the services of one or more research officers from the Library of Parliament, as needed, to assist the Committee in its work, at the discretion of the Chair.

On motion of Paddy Torsney, it was agreed - That the Chair be authorised to hold meetings and to receive evidence, when a quorum is not present provided that at least 5 members, including at least 2 Opposition members, are present.

Paddy Torsney moved - that witnesses be given ten minutes for their opening statement.

After debate the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to.

Paddy Torsney moved - That all questioning be limited to 5 minutes per member and that the Chair direct the first two questions to Opposition members, the second two questions to Government members and that subsequent questions be alternately shared between Opposition and Government members at the discretion of the Chair.

Debate arose, thereon

Dave Chatters moved, -That the motion be amended by inserting between the words "questions to the " and the words "Opposition members" the word "official".

After debate the question was put on the amendment and it was negatived.

The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to.

On motion of Clifford Lincoln, it was agreed, -That, as established by the Board of Internal Economy, and if requested, reasonable travelling, accommodation and living expenses be reimbursed to witnesses, who are invited to appear before the Committee to a maximum of 2 representatives for any one organization.

On motion of Mr. Lincoln, it was agreed - That from time to time, at the request of a Member or staff person of the Committee and if authorised by the Chair, the Clerk be authorised to order books or publications for the use of the Committee, particularly if the publications are not available or difficult to obtain from the Library of Parliament.

On motion of David Pratt, it was agreed , -That a notice of 24 hours be required before any substantive motion may be presented to the Committee.

On motion of Julian Reed, it was agreed, -That the Chair be authorised to purchase gifts on behalf of the Committee for visiting delegations to Canada meeting with the Committee or for foreign hosts when the Committee is travelling abroad.

On motion of Joe Jordan, it was agreed, -That from time to time the Committee hold working sessions during meal hours and that the cost of meals be charged to the Committee.

On motion of Dave Chatters, it was agreed - That whenever an Order-in-Council appointment or certificate of nomination for an appointment is referred to the Committee, the Clerk of the Committee obtain and circulate to each Member of the Committee, a copy of the curriculum vitae of each appointee or nominee.

Dave Chatters moved - That no in camera meeting shall occur without a vote by the Committee at an open meeting.

After debate, the motion, by unanimous consent, was withdrawn.

On motion of Dave Chatters it was agreed- That one copy of the transcript of all in camera meetings be kept for consultation in the office of the Clerk of the Committee.

Jocelyne Girard-Bujold moved - That the Clerk of the Committee be authorised to distribute documents received from the public only after they have been translated in both official languages.

After debate the question was put on the motion and it was agreed to.

On motion of Clifford Lincoln, it was agreed, - That pursuant to its Order of Reference adopted on April 27, 1999, the Committee continue its study and prepare a report to the House on the management of pesticides in Canada including an evaluation of the performance of the Pest Management Review Agency in preventing pollution and in protecting the environment and human health and that all evidence heard and all documents submitted for this study during the First Session of the 36th Parliament be deemed presented for the current session.

At 12:09 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.





Stephen Knowles
Clerk of the Committee