Skip to main content Start of content


41st Parliament, 2nd Session (October 16, 2013 - August 2, 2015) Latest Session

Established by the Standing Orders of the House of Commons, the mandate of the Standing Committee on Natural Resources is to study and report on matters referred to it by the House of Commons, or on topics the Committee itself chooses to examine. It can study all matters relating to the mandate, management, operation, budget and legislation of the Department of Natural Resources and of organizations pertaining to its portfolio. For a more detailed overview of parliamentary committees, see the House of Commons Compendium’s section on committees.

Created on June 25, 1993 through a merger of the Department of Energy, Mines and Resources and the Department of Forestry, the Department of Natural Resources (NRCan) comprises four major industrial sectors: the energy sector, the forest sector, the minerals and metals sector and the earth sciences sector. The Minister of Natural Resources is also responsible before Parliament for the Natural Resources portfolio, which includes: