Skip to main content Start of content

Print format

The House of Commons: Report to Canadians 2011

The Board of Internal Economy

Under the Parliament of Canada Act, the Board of Internal Economy governs the House Administration. It is responsible for all matters of financial and administrative policy that affect the House and its Members, premises, services and employees. It has the legal authority to make by-laws, which are tabled in the House, to regulate the use of resources available to the House of Commons.

The Speaker of the House chairs the Board, which is made up of Members from all recognized political parties. The Board meets on a regular basis, and minutes of those meetings are tabled in the House. To learn more about the Board of Internal Economy and the documents made available to the public, please visit the Parliament of Canada Web site at

The Board membership as of March 31, 2011 was as follows: Hon. Peter Milliken (Speaker of the House of Commons and Chair of the Board), Hon. John Baird, Ms. Libby Davies, Mrs. Claude DeBellefeuille, Mr. Jacques Gourde, Mr. David McGuinty, Hon. Gordon O’Connor, Mr. Joe Preston, Mr. Marcel Proulx, and Ms. Audrey O’Brien (Secretary to the Board).

< Previous | Next >