Skip to main content Start of content
Print format
Home Button

Behind The Scenes: The House of Commons Administration


Employees of the House of Commons Administration take great pride in their work, supporting Members of Parliament and strengthening the House of Commons by helping to advance the initiatives of parliamentarians.

Members of the Board of Internal Economy

Photo of the Members of the Board of Internal Economy

Standing from left to right: Mr. Michel Guimond, M.P., Whip of the Bloc Québécois; Mr. Joe Preston, M.P. (CPC); Mr. Michael Ignatieff , M.P. (Lib.); Mr. James Moore, M.P., Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Public Works and Government Services and for the Pacific Gateway and the Vancouver-Whistler Olympics; Hon. Jay Hill, P.C., M.P., Secretary of State and Chief Government Whip; Ms. Audrey O'Brien, Clerk of the House of Commons; Hon. Peter Van Loan, P.C., M.P., Leader of the Government in the House of Commons and Minister for Democratic Reform.

Sitting from left to right: Hon. Karen Redman, P.C., M.P., Whip of the Official Opposition; Hon. Peter Milliken, M.P., Speaker of the House of Commons and Chair of the Board of Internal Economy; Ms. Libby Davies, M.P., House Leader of the New Democratic Party.

Photo: © House of Commons / Chris Diotte

Drawing on the professional support of over 1,800 employees, the House Administration has six service areas: Procedural Services; the Office of the Law Clerk and Parliamentary Counsel; Information Services; Parliamentary Precinct Services; Finance Services; and Human Resources and Corporate Planning Services.

The House Administration staff is accountable to the Clerk of the House of Commons, who reports to the Speaker and serves as Secretary to the Board of Internal Economy.

The Board of Internal Economy governs the House Administration. It is chaired by the Speaker and composed of Members from all recognized political parties. The Board is responsible for all matters of financial and administrative policy affecting the House of Commons.


The winning design for Canada's first Parliament was selected in 1859 in part because of its accommodation of both the press and the public. The design jury chair, Samuel Keefer, maintained that the design by Fuller & Jones was the only one that met both the aesthetic and practical requirements of the government in this respect.

House of Commons Administration Organization Chart

Graphic of the House of Commons Administration Organization Chart


Canadian Study of
Parliament Group

Founded in 1978, the Canadian Study of Parliament Group (CSPG) is a non-profit, non-partisan organization that brings together parliamentary experts, academics and public servants with an interest in the role, function and reform of parliamentary institutions. This group organizes conferences, seminars and speaking tours and produces research publications that foster discussion and enhance knowledge of parliamentary government. Its operations are supported by the financial and voluntary contributions of its members and by the Senate and the House of Commons. CSPG membership is open to anyone with an interest in Parliament, parliamentary institutions and parliamentary affairs. Visit the Canadian Study of Parliament Group online at to learn more about the organization and its upcoming events.


Canada's shortest Parliament lasted two months and six days (31st Parliament, from October 9, 1979 to December 14, 1979).

Canada's longest Parliament lasted five years, 10 months, 22 days (12th Parliament, from November 15, 1911 to October 6, 1917).


Teachers' Institute on Parliamentary Democracy

First launched in 1996, this is a unique professional development program for teachers across Canada to learn more about parliamentary government and citizenship education. Every November, the program brings together approximately 70 educators to participate in an intensive week-long program on Parliament Hill, administered by the Library of Parliament.