Skip to main content Start of content

PROC Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Minutes of Proceedings

42nd Parliament, 1st Session
Meeting No. 40
Thursday, November 17, 2016, 11:01 a.m. to 1:01 p.m.
Hon. Larry Bagnell, Chair (Liberal)

Library of Parliament
• Andre Barnes, Analyst
Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointments
• Jeannette Arsenault, Provincial Member, Prince Edward Island
• Brian Francis, Provincial Member, Prince Edward Island
• Vikram Vij, Provincial Member, British Columbia
Pursuant to Standing Orders 110 and 111, the Committee commenced consideration of the Order in Council appointments to the Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointments, referred to the Committee on Friday, September 23, 2016.

It was agreed, — That a proposed budget in the amount of $3,900, for the study of the Order in Council Appointments to the Independent Advisory Board for Senate Appointments, be adopted.

Jeannette Arsenault, Brian Francis and Vikram Vij, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.

Blake Richards gave oral notice of the following motion:

That the Committee invite Paul Szabo, Sven Spengemann, Veena Bhullar, Jamie Kippen, and a representative from the Parkhill Group to appear to answer all questions related to the correspondence sent to the Chair of the Procedure and House Affairs Committee on October 28, 2016, regarding alleged breaches of the Canada Elections Act in Mississauga-Lakeshore.

At 11:22 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:10 p.m., the sitting resumed.

Questioning of the witnesses resumed.

At 1:01 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

Andrew Lauzon
Clerk of the Committee