Skip to main content

HESA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

Meeting No. 57
Thursday, April 23, 2015

The Standing Committee on Health met at 3:34 p.m. this day, in Room 306, The Valour Building, the Chair, Ben Lobb, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Hedy Fry, Wladyslaw Lizon, Ben Lobb, Cathy McLeod, Christine Moore, Murray Rankin and David Wilks.


Acting Members present: Stella Ambler for Lawrence Toet, Isabelle Morin for Matthew Kellway and Blake Richards for Lawrence Toet.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Havi Echenberg, Analyst; Marlisa Tiedemann, Analyst.


Witnesses: Canadians For Safe Technology: Frank Clegg, Chief Executive Officer, C4ST. As individuals: Anthony Miller, Professor Emeritus, Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto; Magda Havas, Professor, Environmental and Resource Studies, Trent University; Dariusz Leszczynski, Adjunct Professor, Department of Biosciences, University of Helsinki; Rob Tarzwell, Clinical Assistant Professor, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 24, 2015, the Committee resumed its study of Health Canada Safety Code 6.

Anthony Miller, Frank Clegg and Magda Havas made statements and answered questions.


At 4:37 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:40 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Dariusz Leszczynski, by videoconference from Helsinki, Finland, and Rob Tarzwell, by videoconference from Vancouver, British Columbia, made statements and answered questions.


At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2015/04/24 3:06 p.m.