Skip to main content

RNNR Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

Meeting No. 65
Thursday, February 7, 2013

The Standing Committee on Natural Resources met at 3:33 p.m. this day, in Room 268, La Promenade Building, the Chair, Leon Benoit, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: David Anderson, Leon Benoit, Blaine Calkins, Joan Crockatt, Claude Gravelle, Ted Hsu, Peter Julian, Ryan Leef, Laurin Liu, Jamie Nicholls and Brad Trost.


Acting Members present: Scott Armstrong for Mike Allen and Anne-Marie Day for Peter Julian.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Jean-Luc Bourdages, Analyst; Milana Simikian, Analyst.


Witnesses: SmartGrid Canada: Alex Bettencourt, Managing Director. Canadian Energy Pipeline Association: Brenda Kenny, President and Chief Executive Officer. Canadian Geothermal Energy Association: Timothy Thompson, Representative, Chief Executive Officer, Borealis GeoPower Inc. TransAlta Corporation: Donald Wharton, Vice-President, Policy and Sustainability.

Pursuant to Standing Order 106(2), the Clerk of the Committee proceeded to the election of a Vice-Chair.

On motion of Blaine Calkins, it was agreed, — That Ted Hsu be elected Second Vice-Chair of the Committee.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on October 4, 2012, the Committee resumed its study of innovation in the energy sector.

Alex Bettencourt, by videoconference from Toronto, Ontario, Brenda Kenny and Timothy Thompson, by videoconference from Calgary, Alberta, and Donald Wharton, by videoconference from Edmonton, Alberta, made statements and answered questions.


At 4:32 p.m., Peter Julian took the Chair.


At 4:36 p.m., Leon Benoit took the Chair.


It was agreed, — That, in relation to the study of innovation in the energy sector, the members of the Committee submit to the Clerk of the Committee, no later than Tuesday, February 12, 2013 at 5:00 p.m., the names of witnesses to be added to their list.


At 5:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Rémi Bourgault
Clerk of the Committee

2013/02/11 3:56 p.m.