Skip to main content

PACP Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

Meeting No. 42
Thursday, May 3, 2012

The Standing Committee on Public Accounts met in a televised session at 8:47 a.m. this day, in Room 237-C, Centre Block, the Chair, David Christopherson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Jay Aspin, Joyce Bateman, Lysane Blanchette-Lamothe, David Christopherson, Earl Dreeshen, Daryl Kramp, Mathieu Ravignat, Andrew Saxton and Bev Shipley.


Acting Members present: Malcolm Allen for Glenn Thibeault, Hon. Laurie Hawn for Bryan Hayes and Hon. John McKay for Hon. Gerry Byrne.


Associate Members present: Chris Alexander.


Other Members present: Linda Duncan and Hon. Bob Rae.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Jeff Graham, Analyst; Alex Smith, Analyst.


Witnesses: Library of Parliament: Kevin Page, Parliamentary Budget Officer; Mostafa Askari, Assistant Parliamentary Budget Officer, Economic and Fiscal Analysis, Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer; Sahir Khan, Assistant Parliamentary Budget Officer, Expenditure and Revenue Analysis, Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer; Peter Weltman, Senior Director, Expenditure and Revenue Analysis, Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer; Tolga Yalkin, Financial Advisor-Analyst, Expenditure and Revenue Analysis, Office of the Parliamentary Budget Officer. Treasury Board Secretariat: Michelle d'Auray, Secretary of the Treasury Board of Canada. Department of Industry: Simon Kennedy, Senior Associate Deputy Minister. Department of National Defence: Robert Fonberg, Deputy Minister; Dan Ross, Assistant Deputy Minister, Materiel; Kevin Lindsey, Assistant Deputy Minister, Chief Financial Officer, Finance and Corporate Services; André Deschamps, Commander, Royal Canadian Air Force. Department of Public Works and Government Services: François Guimont, Deputy Minister, Deputy Receiver General for Canada; Tom Ring, Assistant Deputy Minister, Acquisitions Branch.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(3)(g) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, April 19, 2012, the Committee resumed consideration of Chapter 2, Replacing Canada's Fighter Jets, of the Spring 2012 Report of the Auditor General of Canada referred to the Committee on Tuesday, April 3, 2012.

Kevin Page made a statement and, with Sahir Khan and Peter Weltman, answered questions.


At 9:46 a.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 9:53 a.m., the sitting resumed.


Michelle d'Auray, Robert Fonberg, Dan Ross, François Guimont, LGen André Deschamps, Simon Kennedy, Kevin Lindsey and Tom Ring answered questions.


At 10:49 a.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Joann Garbig
Clerk of the Committee

2012/06/20 10:11 a.m.