Skip to main content

HUMA Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

Meeting No. 7
Tuesday, October 25, 2011

The Standing Committee on Human Resources, Skills and Social Development and the Status of Persons with Disabilities met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 112-N, Centre Block, the Chair, Ed Komarnicki, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Brad Butt, Jean Crowder, Rodger Cuzner, Joe Daniel, Carol Hughes, Ed Komarnicki, Kellie Leitch, Colin Mayes, Phil McColeman, Claude Patry, Manon Perreault and Devinder Shory.


Acting Members present: Marjolaine Boutin-Sweet for Manon Perreault.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Sandra Gruescu, Analyst; André Léonard, Analyst.


Witnesses: Toronto Region Immigrant Employment Council: Joan Atlin, Director of Programs. University of Manitoba: Jonathan Beddoes, Dean, Faculty of Engineering. Alberta International Medical Graduates Association: Peter Idahosa, President. Mount Royal University: Pam Nordstrom, Director, School of Nursing. S.U.C.C.E.S.S.: Thomas Tam, Chief Executive Officer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on September 29, 2011, the Committee resumed its study of A Framework for Success: Practical Recommendations to Further Shorten the Foreign Qualification Recognition Process.

Jonathan Beddoes, Peter Idahosa and Pam Nordstrom made statements and answered questions.


At 4:30 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:36 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Joan Atlin and Thomas Tam made statements and answered questions.


At 5:30 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Evelyn Lukyniuk
Clerk of the Committee

2011/10/26 9:50 a.m.