Skip to main content

CIIT Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

Meeting No. 42
Thursday, June 7, 2012

The Standing Committee on International Trade met at 11:30 a.m. this day, in Room 268, La Promenade Building, the Chair, the Hon. Rob Merrifield, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Ron Cannan, Don Davies, Hon. Wayne Easter, Russ Hiebert, Ed Holder, Gerald Keddy, Hon. Rob Merrifield, Marc-André Morin, Annick Papillon, Jasbir Sandhu, Bev Shipley and Devinder Shory.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Alexandre Gauthier, Analyst.


Witnesses: Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Kerry Buck, Political Director and Assistant Deputy Minister, International Security, Africa, Latin America and the Caribbean Branch; Jean-Benoît Leblanc, Director, Trade Policy and Negotiations Division I; Sylvain Fabi, Acting Director General, Latin America and Caribbean Bureau; James Junke, Director, Human Rights, Governance and Indigenous Affairs Policy Division. Department of Human Resources and Skills Development: Pierre Bouchard, Director, Bilateral and Regional Labour Affairs. Amnesty International: Alex Neve, Secretary General, Amnesty International Canada. Canadian Labour Congress: Hassan Yussuff, Secretary-Treasurer.

Pursuant to Standing Order 32(5) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Thursday, May 31, 2012, the Committee commenced its study of the report on the operation of the Canada-Colombia Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act.

Kerry Buck made a statement and, with Jean-Benoît Leblanc, answered questions.


At 12:13 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 12:15 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Alex Neve and Hassan Yussuff made statements and answered questions.


At 1:00 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Paul Cardegna
Clerk of the Committee

2012/06/12 3:12 p.m.