Skip to main content Start of content

FAAE Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Meeting No. 16
Monday, May 4, 2009

The Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development met in camera at 3:28 p.m. this day, in Room 371, West Block, the Chair, Kevin Sorenson, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Jim Abbott, Lois Brown, Paul Crête, Paul Dewar, Peter Goldring, James Lunney, Deepak Obhrai, Glen Douglas Pearson, Hon. Bob Rae and Kevin Sorenson.


Acting Members present: Jean Dorion for Johanne Deschamps, Alexandra Mendes for Bernard Patry and Anthony Rota for Hon. Bob Rae.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: James Lee, Analyst; Melissa Radford, Analyst.


At 3:32 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:34 p.m., the sitting resumed in public.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

Paul Dewar moved, — That, pursuant to Standing Order 108(2), Abousfian Abdelrazik be asked to appear before the Standing Committee on Foreign Affairs and International Development.

Debate arose thereon.


The question was put on the motion and it was agreed to, by a show of hands: YEAS: 6; NAYS: 0.


At 3:49 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 3:51 p.m., the sitting resumed in camera.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on Tuesday, February 10, 2009, the Committee resumed its study of key elements of Canadian foreign policy.

The Committee resumed consideration of a draft report.


At 5:33 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Angela Crandall
Clerk of the Committee

2009/06/25 8:46 a.m.