Skip to main content

NDDN Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

Meeting No. 28
Monday, December 11, 2006

The Standing Committee on National Defence met at 3:30 p.m. this day, in Room 362, East Block, Acting Chair, Russ Hiebert, presiding.


Members of the Committee present: Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Dawn Black, Steven Blaney, Hon. Ujjal Dosanjh, Cheryl Gallant, Laurie Hawn and Russ Hiebert.


Acting Members present: Diane Bourgeois for Claude Bachand and Serge Cardin for Robert Bouchard.


Witnesses: University of British Columbia: Michael Byers, Professor and Canada Research Chair (Tier One) in Global Politics and International Law. Department of National Defence: Col G. Herfst, Deputy Judge Advocate General Operations. Amnesty International Canada: Alex Neve, Secretary General, English Speaking Section. Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Sabine Nölke, Deputy Director, United Nations, Human Rights and Humanitarian Law Section, Bureau of Legal Affairs. Department of National Defence: Vincent Rigby, Acting Assistant Deputy Minister (Policy). Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade: Colleen Swords, Assistant Deputy Minister, International Security Branch and Political Director.

Pursuant to Standing Order 108(2) and the motion adopted by the Committee on May 16, 2006, the Committee resumed its study of Canadian Forces in Afghanistan.

On motion of Ujjal Dosanjh, it was agreed, — That Russ Hiebert be elected acting Chair for this meeting.


Colleen Swords and Vincent Rigby made statements and, with Sabine Nölke and Col Herfst, answered questions.


At 4:31 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 4:37 p.m., the sitting resumed.


Michael Byers and Alex Neve made statements and answered questions.


At 5:32 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Andrew Bartholomew Chaplin
Clerk of the Committee

2006/12/12 11:30 a.m.