Skip to main content Start of content

CIMM Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at


Meeting No. 5

Wednesday, November 20, 2002

The Standing Committee on Citizenship and Immigration met at 3:40 p.m. this day, in Room 269, West Block, the Acting Chair, Steve Mahoney, presiding.

Members of the Committee present: Diane Ablonczy, Yvon Charbonneau, Madeleine Dalphond-Guiral, Steve Mahoney, Inky Mark, Anita Neville, Judy Wasylycia-Leis, Lynne Yelich.

Other Member present:  Bob Speller.

In attendance: From the Library of Parliament: Benjamin Dolin and Margaret Young; Researchers.

Witnesses: From the American Immigration Lawyers Association: David H. Davis; Nan Berezowski, Barrister and solicitor. From the Canadian Auto Workers Union: Raj Dhaliwal, Director, Human Rights Department; Peggy Nash, Assistant to the President; Lisa Kelly, Counsel. From the Canadian Bar Association: Tamra L. Thomson, Director, Legislation and Law Reform; Renée Miller, Executive Membre, National Citizenship and Immigration Section. From the Southern Ontario Sanctuary Coalition: Mary Jo Leddy. From the As Individual: Max Berger, Barrister & Sollicitor.

Pursuant to its mandate under Standing Order 108(2), the Committee resumed its study on Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations ( Safethird Country Agreement).

Nan Berezowski and David H. Davis made opening statements and answered questions.

Peggy Nash made an opening statement and with the other witness answered questions.

Tamra L. Thomson and Renée Miller made opening statements and answered questions.

Mary Jo Leddy made an opening statement and answered questions.

Max Berger made an opening statement and answered questions.

At 5:31 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.

William Farrell

Clerk of the Committee